Sixth Scientist Laureate, distinguished scientists named

Tony Hollingsworth, Ph.D., professor and director of pancreatic cancer research at the Eppley Institute, has been named UNMC's sixth Scientist Laureate.

The award is the highest honor UNMC bestows to researchers.

picture disc.
Tony Hollingsworth, Ph.D.
Dr. Hollingsworth was honored along with 22 other researchers recently named UNMC Distinguished Scientist and New Investigator award winners for 2011.

Dr. Hollingsworth -- who was a Distinguished Scientist in 2006 and 2010 -- studies the biology of pancreatic tumor progression in an effort to find new diagnostic and therapies for pancreatic cancer.

"Dr. Hollingsworth has been at the forefront of his field for many years and is an international figure in the world of pancreatic cancer research," said Jennifer Larsen, M.D., vice chancellor for research. "His work provides hope to those who are faced with one of the most lethal diseases known to mankind."

About the Distinguished Scientist Award

The Distinguished Scientist award -- which is sponsored by the chancellor -- recognizes researchers who have been among the most productive scientists in the country during the past five years.

Rising stars

New Investigator awards go to outstanding UNMC scientists who in the past two years have secured their first funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense or other national sources.

New Investigators also had to demonstrate scholarly activity such as publishing their research and/or presenting their findings at national conventions.

Ceremony in the spring

A campus ceremony will be held later this spring to recognize the award recipients.

The 2011 Distinguished Scientist and New Investigator award winners are listed below (* denotes New Investigator award recipient).

College of Dentistry

  • Gregory Oakley, Ph.D.*

College of Pharmacy

  • Tatiana Bronich, Ph.D.

College of Medicine

  • Michael Boska, Ph.D.
  • Pawel Ciborowski, Ph.D.
  • Maneesh Jain, Ph.D.*
  • Georgette Kanmogne, Ph.D., M.P.H.
  • Tricia LeVan, Ph.D.*
  • Eyal Margalit, M.D., Ph.D.*
  • Dmitry Oleynikov, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Iraklis Pipinos, M.B.B.S.
  • Jill Poole, M.D.*
  • Debra Romberger, M.D.
  • Paul Sorgen, Ph.D.
  • Susan Swindells, M.B.B.S.
  • Guangshun Wang, Ph.D.*

College of Nursing

  • Michele Balas, Ph.D.*
  • Marlene Cohen, Ph.D.

College of Public Health

  • Preethy Nayar, Ph.D. *
  • Jane Meza, Ph.D.
  • Todd Wyatt, Ph.D.

Eppley Institute

  • Mayumi Naramura, M.D.*

Munroe-Meyer Institute

  • Wayne Fisher, Ph.D.


Fill out the following and your comment will post once it has been approved.

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.

Thomas Caffrey
February 28, 2012 at 12:25 PM

Congratulations for a job well done !!! What an honor this is !! You've always stepped up to the plate to help patients of today and patients of tomorrow. Your efforts ignite a hope that cures.

February 23, 2012 at 4:58 PM


vipin gautam
February 22, 2012 at 6:36 AM

this is so incredible for indian community

February 22, 2012 at 12:22 AM


Previous laureates

  • 2010 -- Shelley Smith, Ph.D.;
  • 2009 -- Alexander "Sasha" Kabanov, Ph.D.;
  • 2008 -- Howard Gendelman, M.D.;
  • 2007 -- Irving Zucker, Ph.D.; and
  • 2006 -- Stephen Rennard, M.D.