UNMC faculty receive teaching, community service awards

Faculty members honored with awards for excellence in teaching, research, community service.

Faculty members at the University of Nebraska Medical Center recently were honored with awards that recognized excellence in teaching, research and community service.

The Spirit of Community Service Award, bestowed for continuing commitment to underserved or isolated communities, was presented to Ruth Margalit, M.D., associate professor in the UNMC College of Public Health. She founded and directs the Service Learning Academy – a program to help health professions students find the true meaning of service through authentic community engagement. Every year, more than 600 UNMC students and students from Creighton University make a meaningful difference in the lives of thousands in the Omaha area.

Two faculty received the Outstanding Faculty Mentor of Graduate Students Award for the profound effect they have on mentoring graduate students. College of Medicine recipients are Wallace Thoreson, Ph.D., professor in the department of ophthalmology & visual sciences and Irving Zucker, Ph.D., professor and chairman in the department of cellular and integrative physiology.

The Outstanding Teaching Award, which reflects a meritorious record of excellence in teaching activities was presented to: Paul Dobesh, Pharm.D., associate professor in the College of Pharmacy; William Lyons, M.D., associate professor in the College of Medicine department of internal medicine, division of geriatrics; and Kendra Schmid, Ph.D., assistant professor and director of the department of biostatistics, College of Public Health.

Medical students in their second year presented two teaching awards to outstanding faculty members. Geoffrey Talmon, M.D., an associate professor of pathology/microbiology, was awarded a Golden Apple Award. The Silver Pear Award was presented to Aaron Wieland, M.D., assistant professor, department of otolaryngology, head and neck surgery.

The students also presented an award for the best section of clinical medical education. The Outstanding Section Award went to the section of immunology, section directors, Thomas McDonald, Ph.D., and Geoffrey Thiele, Ph.D.

The senior medical school class awarded the Hirschmann Prize for Teaching Excellence for clinical education to two faculty members: Matthew DeVries, M.D., assistant professor and residency program director for the department of radiology and Robert Binhammer, Ph.D., professor emeritus, department of genetics, cell biology and anatomy.

The School of Allied Health Professions awarded its Excellence in Teaching Award to Patty Scholting, a physician assistant instructor; its Excellence in Research Award to Corrine Hanson, Ph.D., assistant professor of medical nutrition education; and the Outstanding Service Award to Linda Fell, who retired in February as director of the clinical laboratory sciences program.

Through world-class research and patient care, UNMC generates breakthroughs that make life better for people throughout Nebraska and beyond. Its education programs train more health professionals than any other institution in the state. Learn more at unmc.edu.



Vicky Cerino
UNMC Public Relations
(402) 559-5190