21st annual state science meet draws 54 students from across Nebraska

Educational, fun experience exposes students to health professions.

Fifty-four eighth-grade students from 24 schools across Nebraska attended UNMC's 21st annual State Science Meet June 6-8, for an educational and fun experience.

The goal of the meet is to inspire students, especially those from rural communities, to pursue careers in health care. The students qualify for the meet by submitting science projects in one of seven regional science meets sponsored by the Nebraska Area Health Education Centers across the state earlier in the year.

While on campus students were exposed to the health professions, medical research and patient care. Events included hands-on science activities such as presentations about a variety of health science disciplines, tours of UNMC and a team science competition.

Below is a list of participants listed alphabetically by town where the school is located.  If the student lives in a different town, the name of that town appears in parenthesis behind the student’s name.

Ainsworth -- Ainsworth Middle School

First-year medical student and chaperon, Kyle Kammer of Ainsworth and eighth grade students, Jack Arens, Brittani Beegle, and Emma Good (Johnstown).

Allen -- Allen Consolidated Schools

Amanda Finnegan (Newcastle), Chase Johnson, Rachel Kneifl, Tayler Kumm, and Austin Roth

Auburn -- Auburn Middle School

Yusuf A. Khan, Hezekiah Santana, and Megan Wright

Bellevue -- Logan Fontenelle Middle School

Emily Wilson

Blue Hill  -- Blue Hill Public School

Becky Cox and Kenzie Hubl

Central City  -- Central City Middle School

Brooke Johnson, Cole McReynolds, and Will Wagner (Archer)

Cody  -- Cody-Kilgore

Shae-yana Thin Elk (Crookston)

Columbus  -- Columbus Middle School

Savannah Cheloha, Elizabeth Garces, Morgan Hurtz, Kaylee Johnson, and Dan Kruger

Elgin  -- Elgin Public Schools

Zoey Bergman, Kenny Bush, Jaime Hoefer, and Taylor Sehi

Pope John XXIII Central Catholic

Gracie Bullock (Neligh), and Shantel Preister (Petersburg)

Ewing -- Ewing Public Schools

Sarah Hawk and Ann Marie Nordby

Franklin -- Franklin Public Schools

Dayna James and Morgan Wenninghoff

Gurley -- Leyton Jr. High School

Teagen Brogren, Kenny Ernest (Dalton), and Morley Haley (Dalton)

Hildreth -- Wilcox-Hildreth Middle School

Jackson VanLaningham (Hildreth) and Alec Ziebarth (Wilcox)

Lewiston -- Lewiston Consolidated School

Leslie Sommerhalder (Steinauer)

Lincoln --North American Martyrs Catholic School

Will Twehous

Louisville -- Louisville Middle School

Lauren Downs (Springfield)

Madrid -- Perkins County Middle School

James McArtor (Grant)

McCook -- St Patrick School

Allison Tolliver

Newman Grove -- Newman Grove Public Schools

Alexis Malmkar

Seward -- St John Lutheran

Josh Sherman

Sidney -- Sidney Middle School

Emma Brosnan, Will Castner, and Samee Kaus

Valley -- Douglas County West

Chris Exstrom

Wayne -- Wayne Community School

R J Liska, Marta Pulfer, Amelia Blankenau, Delaney Jensen, and Caden Korth

Through world-class research and patient care, UNMC generates breakthroughs that make life better for people throughout Nebraska and beyond. Its education programs train more health professionals than any other institution in the state. Learn more at unmc.edu.





Vicky Cerino
UNMC Public Relations
(402) 559-5190