UNMC announces Richard Holland Future Scientist Award winners

Six undergraduate students from four Nebraska colleges and universities recently received the 2013 Richard Holland Future Scientist Award from the Nebraska Coalition for Lifesaving Cures.

The students received cash prizes totaling $2,700 Aug. 6 at the annual INBRE (Institutional Development Award (IDeA) Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence Program) conference in Grand Island.

The awards are named in honor of Richard Holland, an Omaha philanthropist and longtime supporter of research.

The students were judged in two categories representing oral and poster presentations of the research work they conducted this summer as part of the INBRE program.

The INBRE program is overseen by James Turpen, Ph.D., professor of genetics, cell biology and anatomy at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. Dr. Turpen is the principal investigator of the $17.2 million National Institutes of Health grant that funds the program.

Established in 2001, the INBRE Scholars program was created to expose students to serious biomedical research and build a statewide biomedical research infrastructure between undergraduate and graduate institutions.

The students, referred to as INBRE scholars, enter the program after completing their sophomore year of college upon recommendation of their college professors. Each undergraduate school nominates approximately three students a year for the program.

The award winners are listed below.


1st place – Karl Krieser

2nd place – Shanice Harris

3rd place – Lisa Poppe



1st place – Lana Zhouldeva

2nd place – Gloria Larson

3rd place – Taylor Mighell


Through world-class research and patient care, UNMC generates breakthroughs that make life better for people throughout Nebraska and beyond. Its education programs train more health professionals than any other institution in the state. Learn more at unmc.edu.


Lisa Spellman
UNMC Public Relations
(402) 559-4353