22nd annual state science meet draws 66 students from across Nebraska

Sixty-six eighth-grade students from 24 schools across Nebraska attended UNMC's 22nd annual State Science Meet June 5-7, for an educational and fun experience.

The goal of the meet is to inspire students, especially those from rural communities, to pursue careers in health care. The students qualify for the meet by submitting science projects in one of seven regional science meets sponsored by the Nebraska Area Health Education Centers across the state earlier in the year.

While on campus students were exposed to the health professions, medical research and patient care. Events included hands-on science activities such as: 

  • Presentations about a variety of health science disciplines
  • Tours of UNMC
  • A team science competition

 Below is a list of participants listed alphabetically by town where the school is located.  If the student lives in a different town, the name of that town appears in parenthesis behind the student’s name. The students appear in the picture in the same order they are listed.

Ainsworth -- Ainsworth Community School

Payton Allen, Jaycee Dillon (Long Pine), Cassidy Gilliland, Morgan Osborn, Bo Painter, and Claire Steinhauser  

Allen -- Allen Consolidated Schools

Destina (Desi) Martell, Blake McCorkindale, Kiara Monteith, and Levi Woodward  

Auburn -- Auburn Middle School

Gage Fischer, Meg Rieschick, and Wyatt Whitney  

Bellevue -- Logan Fontenelle

Molly Cloyd  

Cody -- Cody-Kilgore Unified Schools

Erin Cheney, Kitra Cody, and Lesli Schneider 

Columbus -- Columbus Middle School

Paxton Myers, Jessie Nelson, Shayla Riley, Alex Uhlig, and Catherine Veseth  

Elgin -- Elgin Public School

Lydia Behnk and Hayes Miller (Oakdale)

Elgin -- Pope John XXIII Central Catholic

Calli Krebs (Neligh), Madison (Maddie) Dilly (Neligh), Grace Henn, and Marie Meis  

Eustis -- Eustis-Farnam Public School

Leigh-Anne Lehmann and Hannah Walker

Ewing -- Ewing Schools

Bailey Schindler  

Gothenburg -- Gothenburg Jr. High School

Ali Bartels, Arleigh Costello, Madison Coulter, Emma Jorgenson, and Jocelyn Kennicutt  

Gretna -- Gretna Middle School

Sydney Kimnach, Jacob Mann (Omaha), and Macy Rasmussen (Omaha)

Lewellen -- Garden County Junior High

Peyton Stanczyk (Oshkosh)

Lincoln -- North American Martyrs

Grant Campbell, Anna Cao, Abby Nelson, and Emily Schmit (Pleasant Dale)

Madison -- Madison Middle School

Jonathan Alarcon, Megan Eisenmann, Ryan Haskell, Josue Meza, and Olivia Wolken  

Newman Grove -- Newman Grove Public Schools

Bryton Fowlkes and Rebecca Stone  

North Platte -- St. Patrick's Jr/Sr High School

Libby Calhoun, Jacob Granger, Luke McKeon, and Gary White III  

Petersburg -- Boone Central Middle School

April Johnson (Albion)

Sidney -- Sidney Middle School

Kate Dible, Drew Reece, Tessa Siler, and Kollyn Weimer  

Wayne -- Wayne Community Schools

Callie Brown, Jack Evetovich, Grace Heithold, and Marcella Jurotich  

Through world-class research and patient care, UNMC generates breakthroughs that make life better for people throughout Nebraska and beyond. Its education programs train more health professionals than any other institution in the state. Learn more at unmc.edu and follow us on social media.

Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Pinterest  |  YouTube


Lisa Spellman
UNMC Public Relations
(402) 559-4353