Quiz challenge answer and winners

Congratulations to Can Erdem, M.D., a house officer in the department of surgery, who was the first person to correctly respond to the question below (answer in bold).

picture disc.
In 2006, Stephen Rennard, M.D., was named UNMC's first Scientist Laureate.
Which of the following UNMC investigators was the first UNMC Scientist Laureate?
  • A. Irving Zucker, Ph.D.
  • B. Howard Gendelman, M.D.
  • C. Stephen Rennard, M.D.
  • D. Shelley Smith, Ph.D.

The Scientist Laureate Award is the highest honor UNMC bestows upon its researchers. Dr. Rennard -- Larson professor of internal medicine-pulmonary medicine and a world-renowned researcher of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease -- received the first Scientist Laureate Award in 2006.

Here is a complete list of UNMC's Scientist Laureates:

  • 2006 -- Stephen Rennard, M.D.;
  • 2007 -- Irving Zucker, Ph.D.;
  • 2008 -- Howard Gendelman, M.D.;
  • 2009 -- Alexander "Sasha" Kabanov, Ph.D.;
  • 2010 -- Shelley Smith, Ph.D.; and
  • 2011 -- Tony Hollingsworth, Ph.D.


Fill out the following and your comment will post once it has been approved.

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.