Nominations accepted for public health award -- Award ceremony date CORRECTED

The College of Public Health dean's office is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Chancellor Robert D. Sparks, M.D. Award in Public Health and Preventive Medicine.

The award recognizes an individual who has shown outstanding innovation, excellence, collaboration and impact on health promotion, disease prevention and advancement of effective public health.

About the award

Dr. Robert Sparks, a former chancellor of UNMC, established this award through the University of Nebraska Foundation. Eligible candidates are University of Nebraska faculty members, public health professionals or volunteers who demonstrate excellence, creativity and/or distinguished collaboration in advancing effective approaches to improving public health.

The recipient receives $1,000 cash, recognition at the College of Public Health awards event on May 2, and presents her or his work in public health.

What to submit

Nominations are due Feb. 28, and should include:

  • A completed nomination form with the description of the nominee's qualifications;
  • Up to two letters to support the nomination; and
  • A current curriculum vita or resume for the nominee.

These documents will be the primary source of information for selecting the award recipient.

Where to submit

Send nominations to:
Shawn Gibbs, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
College of Public Health
University of Nebraska Medical Center
984355 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, Nebraska 68198-4355


Fill out the following and your comment will post once it has been approved.

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.

Past recipients

Past recipients of this distinguished award are:
  • 2012 -- Joann Schaefer, M.D., Chief Medical Officer and Director of the Division of Public Health for the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services;
  • 2011 -- Mary Balluff, director of Community Health Services, Douglas County Health Department
  • 2010 -- Mary Lee Fitzsimmons, Ph.D., OneWorld Community Health Center, Omaha;
  • 2009 -- Susanna Von Essen, M.D., UNMC;
  • 2008 -- David Palm, Ph.D., Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services;
  • 2007 -- Magda Peck, Sc.D., UNMC;
  • 2006 -- Phil Smith, M.D., UNMC;
  • 2005 -- Ian Newman, Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln.