UNMC for the record

Image with caption: From left, Kyle Meyer, Ph.D., Corrine Hanson, Ph.D., and Pat Leuschen, Ph.D.
From left, Kyle Meyer, Ph.D., Corrine Hanson, Ph.D., and Pat Leuschen, Ph.D.
The School of Allied Health Professions recently distributed its 2013 awards.

  • Corrine Hanson, Ph.D., assistant professor of medical nutrition education, was honored with the School of Allied Health Professions Excellence in Research Award. She is pictured with SAHP senior associate dean Kyle Meyer, Ph.D., and Pat Leuschen, Ph.D, assistant dean for research development in the SAHP.

  • Patty Scholting, instructor in the physician assistant education program, earned this year's
    picture disc.
    Michael, Scholting, Karst
    picture disc.
    Dr. Meyer, Fell, Michael
    Excellence in Teaching Award. She is pictured with Kim Michael, program director of diagnostic medical sonography education and Greg Karst, assistant dean for academic affairs.

  • Linda Fell, who retired in February as director of the clinical laboratory sciences program after 20 years in CLS, was honored with the SAHP's Outstanding Service Award. She is pictured with Dr. Meyer and Kim Michael.

CityMatCH, the National Organization of Urban MCH Leaders housed in the Department of Pediatrics, has extended the abstract submission deadline for its 2013 Annual Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference. The abstract submission deadline has been extended to midnight on May 24 for the conference "Nothing But the Best: Quality and Innovation in Urban MCH," which will take place in Savannah, Ga., from Sept. 23-25. CityMatCH is seeking program/policy and scientific research/data-focused abstracts for oral or poster presentation. To submit an abstract, please visit the CityMatCH website.

Coeta Hampton, a coordinator in the College of Nursing, was invited to speak May 4 at the eighth annual 100 Black Men Gala in Omaha. Hampton has had two sons go through the 100 Black Men mentoring program.

Sarah Keim Janssen, Ph.D., genetics, cell biology and anatomy, was awarded the Golden Apple Outstanding Teacher Award from the first-year medical students. Runners-up for the award included Parmender Mehta, Ph.D., and Richard MacDonald, Ph.D., both biochemistry and molecular biology.

Matthew DeVries, M.D., radiology, and Robert Binhammer, Ph.D., genetics, cell biology and anatomy, were honored by the fourth-year medical students with the Hirschmann Prize for Teaching Excellence. Dr. DeVries was honored in the clinical and Dr. Binhammer in the pre-clinical categories.

James Armitage, M.D., oncology-hematology, has been elected to the TESARO board of directors. TESARO is an oncology-focused biopharmaceutical company dedicated to improving the lives of cancer patients by acquiring, developing and commercializing safer and more effective therapeutics.


Fill out the following and your comment will post once it has been approved.

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.