UNMC for the record

picture disc. Cancer Center site preparation begins

The Fred & Pamela Buffett Cancer Center project is in full swing, and the site is experiencing a flurry of activity in preparation for the busy months ahead. As construction traffic picks up on 45th Street and Dewey Avenue, pedestrians and drivers are encouraged to plan accordingly. Safety reminders will be posted throughout construction, and employees are asked to follow these guidelines. Once brush is cleared and trees relocated, interior demolition of Swanson Hall will start and is expected to last into August.

Deb Thomas, associate vice chancellor, business and finance, was one of 47 graduates from this year's Leadership Omaha class. This marks the 35th class of Leadership Omaha graduates. A program of the Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Omaha develops community leaders through a series of educational seminars and interactions with business and civic leaders. Class members are chosen based on their demonstrated community involvement and career advancement. It is one of the longest-running community leadership programs in the country.

The College of Medicine released its House Officers of the Year Awards in June. Recognized were:

  • Paul Kolkman, M.D., surgery;
  • Nolan May, M.D., orthopaedic surgery; and
  • Malachia Trout, medicine/pediatrics.

The House Officer of the Year Award is selected in voting by students, house officers and faculty from UNMC's College of Medicine. The award is presented annually to a house officer who displays outstanding qualities as a physician, scholar and teacher, and as someone who stands out as an inspiration to students and as a source of pride for colleagues, teachers and members of the community.

Nolan May, M.D., also received the Frank P. Stone, M.D., Award for Resident Academic Excellence at the orthopaedic surgery graduation banquet on June 22 at the Hilton Omaha. Other awardees at the event included:

  • Eric Samuelson, M.D.: John F. Connolly, M.D., Award for Outstanding Resident Research;
  • Scott Vincent, M.D.: Award for Outstanding Junior Resident; and
  • Matthew Mormino, M.D.: Award for Faculty Excellence in Teaching.


Fill out the following and your comment will post once it has been approved.

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.