Howard Fox, M.D., Ph.D., is UNMC's eighth Scientist Laureate

Image with caption: Howard Fox, M.D., Ph.D.
Howard Fox, M.D., Ph.D.
Howard Fox, M.D., Ph.D., professor of pharmacology and experimental neuroscience and senior associate dean for research in the College of Medicine, has been named UNMC's eighth Scientist Laureate.

The award is the highest honor UNMC bestows to researchers.

Dr. Fox was honored along with 15 other researchers recently named UNMC Distinguished Scientist, New Investigator and Research Leadership award winners for 2013.

Dr. Fox was a Distinguished Scientist in 2010. His research deals with disease pathogenesis. His primary focus has been with HIV/AIDS research.

"Howard Fox is not only an internationally recognized investigator in HIV but since he joined the faculty, he has been a campus thought leader, significantly contributing to discussions of research infrastructure, training, and novel approaches to incentivizing new research teams and collaborations," said Jennifer Larsen, M.D., vice chancellor for research.

About the Distinguished Scientist Award
The Distinguished Scientist Award -- which is sponsored by the chancellor -- recognizes researchers who have been among the most productive scientists in the country during the past five years.

About the Research Leadership Award
The Research Leadership Award is being given for the first time this year. This new award category is intended to honor scientists previously recognized as Distinguished Scientists who have a longstanding research funding history, and also serve as research leaders and mentors on campus.

About the New Investigator Awards
New Investigator Awards go to outstanding UNMC scientists who in the past two years have secured their first funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense or other national sources.

New Investigators also had to demonstrate scholarly activity such as publishing their research and/or presenting their findings at national conventions.

Ceremony in the spring

A campus ceremony will be held later this spring to recognize the award recipients.

The 2013 Distinguished Scientist, Research Leadership and New Investigator award winners are listed below (DS denotes Distinguished Scientist, RL denotes Research Leadership Award recipient, NA denotes New Investigator Award recipient).

College of Medicine

  • Kaushik Patel, Ph.D. - RL
  • Wallace Thoreson, Ph.D. - RL
  • Harold Schultz, Ph.D. - DS
  • Andre Kalil, M.D. - DS
  • Kusum Kharbanda, Ph.D. - DS
  • William Rizzo, M.D. - DS
  • Cheng Wang, Ph.D. - NA
  • Stephen Obaro, M.B.B.S., Ph.D. - NA

College of Nursing

  • Karen Schumacher, Ph.D. - DS

College of Public Health

  • Fang Yu, Ph.D. - DS
  • Amr Soliman, M.D., Ph.D. - DS

Eppley Institute

  • Adam Karpf, Ph.D. - DS
  • Pankaj Singh, Ph.D. - NA

College of Dentistry

  • Aimin Peng, Ph.D. - NA

School of Allied Health Professions

  • Katherine Jones, Ph.D. - NA


Fill out the following and your comment will post once it has been approved.

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.

Lisa Bough
February 03, 2014 at 9:14 AM

Congratulations, Dr. Fox! It has been a pleasure to work up samples for your lab and get to know the members of your team. Lisa Bough