UNMC Header

Distinguished Scientist Kaleb Michaud, Ph.D.

Image with caption: Kaleb Michaud, Ph.D.

Kaleb Michaud, Ph.D.

This profile is part of a series to highlight the researchers who will be honored at a ceremony for UNMC's 2016 Scientist Laureate, Research Leadership, Distinguished Scientist and New Investigator Award recipients.

The Distinguished Scientist Award

The Distinguished Scientist Award -- which is sponsored by the chancellor -- recognizes researchers who have been among the most productive scientists at UNMC during the past five years.

  • Name: Kaleb Michaud, Ph.D.
  • Title: Associate professor, UNMC Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Rheumatology, College of Medicine
  • Joined UNMC: February 2007
  • Hometown: Mount Hope, Kan.

Research focus:
Rheumatoid arthritis

The goal of my research is to understand how arthritis and arthritis treatments affect people over time and how best to measure this impact.

My research will make a difference because:
I manage large observational registries where patients voice their many experiences. From these voices I learn and share with the medical community to improve care for patients with arthritis now and for those in years to come.

The best career advice I've ever been given is:
"Assume your research is wrong, then figure out where and how until you can't."

Three things you may not know about me:

  • I've been in two documentaries, "Echoes from the Ancients" (1998) and "Rabbit Fever" (2010).
  • I was elected to lead student body governments at both my undergrad and graduate universities.
  • I love to play board games and launched Spielbound, a local nonprofit that strives to educate, engage, and create community through board games.

Ceremony Jan. 17

A campus ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. Jan. 17 in the Durham Research Center Auditorium to recognize the award recipients, as well as the winner of the Community Service to Research Award, who will be announced later. A reception will follow. The ceremony will be livestreamed; click here or paste http://www.unmc.edu/livevideo/unmc_live1.html in your browser.

Research Award winners include:
Scientist Laureate
Tammy Kielian, Ph.D., College of Medicine

Research Leadership Award
B. Timothy Baxter, M.D., College of Medicine
Robert Lewis, Ph.D., Eppley Institute

Distinguished Scientist Award
Maneesh Jain, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Shelby Kutty, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
Rongshi Li, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
Mark Mailliard, M.D., College of Medicine
Kaleb Michaud, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Joseph Norman, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
Larisa Poluektova, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
Matthew Rizzo, M.D., College of Medicine
Sarah Thayer, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
Melissa Tibbits, Ph.D., College of Public Health

New Investigator Awards
Laura Bilek, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
Martin Conda Sheridan, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
Sung-Ho Huh, Ph.D., Munroe-Meyer Institute
R. Katherine Hyde, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Mariano Sanchez-Lockhart, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Kimberly Scarsi, Pharm.D., College of Pharmacy
Jessica Nichols Snowden, M.D., College of Medicine
Hanjun Wang, M.D., College of Medicine
Wanfen Xiong, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine

UNMC Wordmark