UNMC Header

New Investigator Kim Scarsi, Pharm.D.

Image with caption: Kim Scarsi, Pharm. D.

Kim Scarsi, Pharm. D.

This profile is part of a series to highlight the researchers who will be honored at a ceremony for UNMC's 2016 Scientist Laureate, Research Leadership, Distinguished Scientist and New Investigator Award recipients.

The New Investigator Award

New Investigator Awards go to outstanding UNMC scientists who in the past two years have secured their first funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense or other national sources. New Investigators also had to demonstrate scholarly activity such as publishing their research and/or presenting their findings at national conventions.

  • Name: Kim Scarsi, Pharm.D.
  • Title: Associate professor of pharmacy practice, College of Pharmacy
  • Joined UNMC: November 2013
  • Hometown: Rapid City, S.D.

Research focus:
HIV pharmacotherapy

The goal of my research is to optimize medication therapy for patients living with HIV. The focus of my research is influenced by my work in low- and middle-income countries, where there are unique issues affecting women living with HIV, as well as men and women who are co-infected with HIV and tuberculosis (TB).

My research will make a difference in the lives of patients living with HIV and TB by providing evidence that can be used to optimize medication therapy for people throughout the world.

The best advice I've ever been given is to apply this quote from Margaret Mead to your local and global community: "Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."

Three things you may not know about me

  • Thanks to my parents' encouragement, I am a first-generation college graduate.
  • I can't find my way around a kitchen, so I'm fortunate to have a husband who is an amazing amateur chef.
  • We lived in Chicago for 14 years before moving to Omaha, so we are diehard Cubs and Bears fans. At least this was a good year for one of the two teams!

Ceremony Jan. 17

A campus ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. Jan. 17 in the Durham Research Center Auditorium to recognize the award recipients, as well as the winner of the Community Service to Research Award, who will be announced later. A reception will follow. The ceremony will be livestreamed; click here or paste http://www.unmc.edu/livevideo/unmc_live1.html in your browser.

Research Award winners include:
Scientist Laureate
Tammy Kielian, Ph.D., College of Medicine

Research Leadership Award
B. Timothy Baxter, M.D., College of Medicine
Robert Lewis, Ph.D., Eppley Institute

Distinguished Scientist Award
Maneesh Jain, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Shelby Kutty, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
Rongshi Li, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
Mark Mailliard, M.D., College of Medicine
Kaleb Michaud, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Joseph Norman, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
Larisa Poluektova, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
Matthew Rizzo, M.D., College of Medicine
Sarah Thayer, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
Melissa Tibbits, Ph.D., College of Public Health

New Investigator Awards
Laura Bilek, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
Martin Conda Sheridan, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
Sung-Ho Huh, Ph.D., Munroe-Meyer Institute
R. Katherine Hyde, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Mariano Sanchez-Lockhart, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Kimberly Scarsi, Pharm.D., College of Pharmacy
Jessica Nichols Snowden, M.D., College of Medicine
Hanjun Wang, M.D., College of Medicine
Wanfen Xiong, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine

UNMC Wordmark