UNMC Header

New Investigator Sung-Ho Huh, Ph.D.

Image with caption: Sung-Ho Huh, Ph.D.

Sung-Ho Huh, Ph.D.

This profile is part of a series to highlight the researchers who will be honored at a ceremony for UNMC's 2016 Scientist Laureate, Research Leadership, Distinguished Scientist and New Investigator Award recipients.

The New Investigator Award

New Investigator Awards go to outstanding UNMC scientists who in the past two years have secured their first funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense or other national sources. New Investigators also had to demonstrate scholarly activity such as publishing their research and/or presenting their findings at national conventions.

  • Name: Sung-Ho Huh, Ph.D.
  • Title: Assistant professor, Holland Regenerative Medicine Program, UNMC Department of Developmental Neuroscience, Munroe-Meyer Institute
  • Joined UNMC: January 2016
  • Hometown: Pusan, Korea

Research focus:
Mouse development, FGF signaling, organogenesis

The goal of my research is to understand mechanisms by which signaling pathways regulate higher vertebrate organ development, using mice as a model system. We are particularly interested in how growth factors such as fibroblast growth factors and Wnt signaling pathways regulate cochlear and nephron development.

My research will make a difference because repair of many diseases requires regeneration of damaged tissue. Regeneration often recapitulates developmental processes. A thorough understanding of mechanisms which regulate organ development is, therefore, necessary to facilitate therapeutic strategy of organ repair. My research will improve the understanding of organ development and provide molecules necessary for normal development and repair.

The best advice I've ever been given is:
Think outside of the box and do not give up.

Three things you may not know about me

  • I like spicy food.
  • I like to sing.
  • I celebrate my birthday in the lunar calendar.

Ceremony Jan. 17

A campus ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. Jan. 17 in the Durham Research Center Auditorium to recognize the award recipients, as well as the winner of the Community Service to Research Award, who will be announced later. A reception will follow. The ceremony will be livestreamed; click here or paste http://www.unmc.edu/livevideo/unmc_live1.html in your browser.

Research Award winners include:
Scientist Laureate
Tammy Kielian, Ph.D., College of Medicine

Research Leadership Award
B. Timothy Baxter, M.D., College of Medicine
Robert Lewis, Ph.D., Eppley Institute

Distinguished Scientist Award
Maneesh Jain, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Shelby Kutty, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
Rongshi Li, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
Mark Mailliard, M.D., College of Medicine
Kaleb Michaud, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Joseph Norman, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
Larisa Poluektova, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
Matthew Rizzo, M.D., College of Medicine
Sarah Thayer, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
Melissa Tibbits, Ph.D., College of Public Health

New Investigator Awards
Laura Bilek, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
Martin Conda Sheridan, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
Sung-Ho Huh, Ph.D., Munroe-Meyer Institute
R. Katherine Hyde, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Mariano Sanchez-Lockhart, Ph.D., College of Medicine
Kimberly Scarsi, Pharm.D., College of Pharmacy
Jessica Nichols Snowden, M.D., College of Medicine
Hanjun Wang, M.D., College of Medicine
Wanfen Xiong, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine

UNMC Wordmark