UNMC Header

New Investigator: John Lowe, Ph.D.

Image with caption: John Lowe, Ph.D.

John Lowe, Ph.D.

This profile is part of a series to highlight the researchers who will be honored at a ceremony for UNMC's 2017 Scientist Laureate, Research Leadership, Distinguished Scientist and New Investigator Award recipients.

  • Name: John Lowe, Ph.D.
  • Title: Associate professor of environmental, agricultural and occupational health; assistant vice chancellor for health security training and education
  • Joined UNMC: 2008
  • Hometown: Lincoln

The New Investigator Award

New Investigator Awards go to outstanding UNMC scientists who in the past two years have secured their first funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense or other national sources. New Investigators also had to demonstrate scholarly activity such as publishing their research and/or presenting their findings at national conventions.

Research focus:
Infectious diseases

The goal of my research is: To investigate infectious disease transmission and pathogenesis to improve clinical care and reduce infections.

My research will make a difference because: We have unique interdisciplinary research and care teams working to develop new strategies for disease surveillance and clinical care that will improve clinical care in developing countries as well as in developed countries like the United States.

The best advice I've ever been given is:
Phil Smith, M.D., always encouraged me to "be open to new opportunities no matter how abstract from your current focus they seem. Those opportunities may just become the best decisions you ever made."

Three things you may not know about me are:

  • I have had amazing support throughout my schooling and career from my wife Abbey and four children.
  • I can barely swim one lap but my children are dedicated competitive swimmers.
  • I have difficulty driving around, not into, the light poles in the College of Public Health parking lot.

Award ceremony Feb. 13

A campus ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. on Feb. 13 in the Durham Research Center Auditorium to recognize the scientist laureate, distinguished scientists and new investigators, as well as the winner of the Community Service to Research Award, who will be announced later. A reception will follow.

Honorees include:

Scientist Laureate
Kenneth Bayles, Ph.D., College of Medicine

Distinguished Scientists

  • Siddappa Byrareddy, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Amar Singh, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Kathleen Hanna, Ph.D., College of Nursing
  • Corey Hopkins, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
  • Joseph Vetro, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
  • Paul Estabrooks, Ph.D., College of Public Health
  • Jixin Dong, Ph.D., Eppley Institute
  • Wayne Stuberg, Ph.D., Munroe-Meyer Institute
  • Sam Sanderson, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy (posthumous award)

New Investigators

UNMC Wordmark