UNMC Header

New investigator: Minglei Guo, Ph.D.

Image with caption: Minglei Guo, Ph.D.

Minglei Guo, Ph.D.

This profile is part of a series to highlight the researchers who will be honored at a ceremony for UNMC's 2018 Scientist Laureate, Research Leadership, Distinguished Scientist and New Investigator Award recipients.

The New Investigator Award

New Investigator Awards go to outstanding UNMC scientists who in the past two years have secured their first funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense or other national sources. New Investigators also had to demonstrate scholarly activity such as publishing their research and/or presenting their findings at national conventions.

  • Name: Minglei Guo, Ph.D.
  • Title: Assistant professor, UNMC Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Neuroscience
  • Joined UNMC: 2013
  • Hometown: Anhui, Hefei, P.R. China

Research Focus:

  • Microglia
  • Neuroinflammation
  • Autophagy

The goal of my research is: To explore the detailed molecular mechanisms responsible for cocaine-mediated microglial activation and the potential role of microglia in the development of drug addiction.

My research will make a difference because: Currently, most investigations have been focusing on the intro- or inter-neuronal signaling pathways that are altered by cocaine. However, the involvement of microglia in drug addiction remain very unexplored. My research will fill this gap and may identify novel targets (neuroimmune signaling) for the treatment of drug addiction

The best advice I've ever been given is: To make your research focused and persistent.

Three things you may not know about me are:

  • Sometimes I enjoy being alone.
  • I like to watch sci-fi movies.
  • I like to read history books.

Ceremony March 5

A campus ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. March 5 in the Durham Research Center Auditorium to recognize the scientist laureate, research leadership awardee, distinguished scientists and new investigators, as well as the winners of the Community Service to Research Award. A reception will follow.

Honorees include:
Scientist Laureate

  • Robert Lewis, Ph.D., Eppley Institute

Research Leadership

  • Mohammad Siahpush, Ph.D., College of Public Health

Distinguished Scientists

  • David Dzewaltowski, Ph.D., College of Public Health
  • Corinne Hanson, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
  • Javeed Iqbal, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Pete Iwen, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Donald Klepser, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
  • Max Kurz, Ph.D., Munroe-Meyer Institute
  • Yulong Li, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Matthew Lunning, D.O., College of Medicine
  • Scot Ouellette, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Tony Wilson, Ph.D., College of Medicine

New Investigators

  • Bin Duan, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Christine Eisenhauer, Ph.D., College of Nursing
  • Minglei Guo, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Guoko Hu, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Sukhwinder Kaur, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Sushil Kumar, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Caroline Ng, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Armen Petrosyan, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • St. Patrick Reid, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Vinai Chittezham Thomas, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Saraswathi Viswanathan, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Aaron Yoder, Ph.D., College of Public Health

UNMC Wordmark