UNMC Header

Retirement reception for Dr. Jeff Baldwin set for Jan. 30

Image with caption: Jeff Baldwin, Pharm.D.

Jeff Baldwin, Pharm.D.

A retirement reception for Jeff Baldwin, Pharm.D., a 45-year employee in the UNMC College of Pharmacy, will be held Wednesday, Jan. 30, from 2:30-4 p.m., on the 2nd level Commons Area of the UNMC Center for Drug Discovery and Lozier Center for Pharmacy Sciences and Education. The reception is open to all faculty, staff and students.

Dr. Baldwin served as professor over the last 10 years of his career and was vice chair for education for the College of Pharmacy from 2008-2017.

During his illustrious career, Dr. Baldwin served as president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy in 2009-2010 and as president of the Nebraska Pharmacists Association from 1994-1996.

Among his numerous awards, Dr. Baldwin received the Distinguished Teaching Award from the College of Pharmacy in 2006. In 2012, the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) recognized him with the Hugo H. Schaefer Award for his lifetime contributions to APhA and the pharmacy profession. In 2010, Dr. Baldwin's alma mater, the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy, gave him the Paul F. Parker Award.

Active in the Boy Scouts for many years, Dr. Baldwin received numerous accolades for his heroism during the 2008 tornado that went through the Little Sioux Scout Ranch. These honors included the UNMC Spirit of Community Service Award, the Silent Heroes Award (D.J.'s Hero Awards), the Honor Medal with Crossed Palms from the Boys Scouts of America, the State of Iowa Governor's Recognition for Bravery, and the Individual Achievement Medal from the Nebraska National Guard.

Remarks will begin at 3 p.m. Keith Olsen, Pharm.D., the new dean of the College of Pharmacy, is slated to be a presenter.

UNMC Wordmark