UNMC Header

New investigator: Christine Eisenhauer, Ph.D.

Image with caption: Christine Eisenhauer, Ph.D.

Christine Eisenhauer, Ph.D.

This profile is part of a series to highlight the researchers who will be honored at a ceremony for UNMC's 2018-19 Scientist Laureate, Distinguished Scientist, Research Leadership and New Investigator Award recipients.

The New Investigator Award

New Investigator Awards go to outstanding UNMC scientists who in the past two years have secured their first funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense or other national sources. New Investigators also had to demonstrate scholarly activity such as publishing their research and/or presenting their findings at national conventions.

  • Name: Christine Eisenhauer Ph.D.
  • Title: Assistant professor, UNMC College of Nursing-Northern Division
  • Joined UNMC: January 2010
  • Hometown: Crofton, Neb.

Research focus:
Cardiovascular health promotion

The goal of my research is: To investigate mobile health technologies that promote self-monitoring of eating and activity for weight loss in rural, mid-life men.

My research will make a difference because: Tailoring effective mobile health technologies for midlife men to use in self-monitoring their eating and activity for weight loss addresses an important rural health disparity -- access.

The best advice I've ever been given is:
"Don't put off until tomorrow what you can do today" - Benjamin Franklin

Three things you may not know about me are:

  • I live on a cattle ranch on the Santee Sioux Reservation.
  • I keep 50 free range chickens.
  • I am a first-generation college graduate.

Ceremony March 5

A campus ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. March 5 in the Durham Research Center Auditorium to recognize the scientist laureate, research leadership awardee, distinguished scientists and new investigators, as well as the winners of the Community Service to Research Award. A reception will follow.

Honorees include:
Scientist Laureate

  • Robert Lewis, Ph.D., Eppley Institute

Research Leadership

  • Mohammad Siahpush, Ph.D., College of Public Health

Distinguished Scientists

  • David Dzewaltowski, Ph.D., College of Public Health
  • Corinne Hanson, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
  • Javeed Iqbal, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Pete Iwen, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Donald Klepser, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
  • Max Kurz, Ph.D., Munroe-Meyer Institute
  • Yulong Li, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Matthew Lunning, D.O., College of Medicine
  • Scot Ouellette, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Tony Wilson, Ph.D., College of Medicine

New Investigators

UNMC Wordmark