UNMC Header

Distinguished scientist: Max Kurz, Ph.D.

Image with caption: Max Kurz, Ph.D.

Max Kurz, Ph.D.

This profile is part of a series to highlight the researchers who will be honored at a ceremony for UNMC's 2018 Scientist Laureate, Distinguished Scientist, Research Leadership and New Investigator Award recipients.

The Distinguished Scientist Award

The Distinguished Scientist Award -- which is sponsored by the chancellor -- recognizes researchers who have been among the most productive scientists at UNMC during the past five years.

  • Name: Max Kurz, Ph.D.
  • Title: Associate professor, physical therapy, Munroe-Meyer Institute
  • Joined UNMC: 2008
  • Hometown: Omaha

Research focus:

The goal of my research is:
My research uses brain imaging and advanced biomechanical techniques to understand how children and adults with cerebral palsy plan and produce motor actions. My goal is to use my research insights to design new therapeutic approaches that will enhance the ability to learn new motor skills.

My research will make a difference because:
My research breakthroughs have the potential to maximize the function and fitness of individuals with cerebral palsy, which will expand their ability to do fun and engaging activities with their family and friends.

The best advice I've ever been given is:
If you surround yourself with successful people, you cannot help but be successful yourself. Frankly, my research accolades are due to the spectacular team of collaborators and talented graduate students with whom I have surrounded myself.

Three things you may not know about me are:

  • I listen to KBCO daily.
  • My early morning running crew goes by the name "Chasing Skunks."
  • I frequently visit the Fauxmaha food truck.

Ceremony March 5

A campus ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. March 5 in the Durham Research Center Auditorium to recognize the scientist laureate, research leadership awardee, distinguished scientists and new investigators, as well as the winners of the Community Service to Research Award. A reception will follow.

Honorees include:
Scientist Laureate

  • Robert Lewis, Ph.D., Eppley Institute

Research Leadership

  • Mohammad Siahpush, Ph.D., College of Public Health

Distinguished Scientists

  • David Dzewaltowski, Ph.D., College of Public Health
  • Corinne Hanson, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
  • Javeed Iqbal, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Pete Iwen, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Donald Klepser, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
  • Max Kurz, Ph.D., Munroe-Meyer Institute
  • Yulong Li, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Matthew Lunning, D.O., College of Medicine
  • Scot Ouellette, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Tony Wilson, Ph.D., College of Medicine

New Investigators

UNMC Wordmark