UNMC Header

Distinguished scientist: Matthew Lunning, D.O.

Image with caption: Matthew Lunning, D.O.

Matthew Lunning, D.O.

This profile is part of a series to highlight the researchers who will be honored at a ceremony for UNMC's 2018 Scientist Laureate, Distinguished Scientist, Research Leadership and New Investigator Award recipients.

The Distinguished Scientist Award

The Distinguished Scientist Award -- which is sponsored by the chancellor -- recognizes researchers who have been among the most productive scientists at UNMC during the past five years.

  • Name: Matthew Lunning, D.O.
  • Title: Associate professor, UNMC Department of Internal Medicine; medical director, lymphoma research.
  • Joined UNMC: Aug. 24, 2015. Dr. Lunning completed his internal medicine residency at UNMC in 2009 and was also chief resident in internal medicine from July 2009 to June 2010.
  • Hometown: Mason City, Iowa

Research focus:
Lymphoma, CAR (chimeric antigen receptor)-T cells

The goal of my research is: To improve the outcomes and quality of life in patients with lymphoma.

My research will make a difference because: We have an excellent research team that spans multiple disciplines.

The best advice I've ever been given is: When in times of difficulty remember the Serenity Prayer.

Three things you may not know about me are:

  • I love to teach tennis.
  • I collect bottles of wine from the year I was born.
  • I enjoy listening to music composed by Dr. Robert Greg Bociek.

Ceremony March 5

A campus ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. March 5 in the Durham Research Center Auditorium to recognize the scientist laureate, research leadership awardee, distinguished scientists and new investigators, as well as the winners of the Community Service to Research Award. A reception will follow.

Honorees include:
Scientist Laureate

  • Robert Lewis, Ph.D., Eppley Institute

Research Leadership

  • Mohammad Siahpush, Ph.D., College of Public Health

Distinguished Scientists

  • David Dzewaltowski, Ph.D., College of Public Health
  • Corinne Hanson, Ph.D., College of Allied Health Professions
  • Javeed Iqbal, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Pete Iwen, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Donald Klepser, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
  • Max Kurz, Ph.D., Munroe-Meyer Institute
  • Yulong Li, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Matthew Lunning, D.O., College of Medicine
  • Scot Ouellette, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Tony Wilson, Ph.D., College of Medicine

New Investigators

UNMC Wordmark