UNMC Header

New investigator: Benson Edagwa, Ph.D.

Image with caption: Benson Edagwa, Ph.D.

Benson Edagwa, Ph.D.

This profile is part of a series to highlight the researchers who will be honored at a ceremony for UNMC's 2019 Scientist Laureate, Research Leadership, Distinguished Scientist and New Investigator Award recipients.

The New Investigator Award

New Investigator Awards go to outstanding UNMC scientists who in the past two years have secured their first funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense or other national sources. New Investigators also had to demonstrate scholarly activity such as publishing their research and/or presenting their findings at national conventions.

  • Name: Benson Edagwa, Ph.D.
  • Title: Assistant professor, UNMC Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Neuroscience, College of Medicine
  • Joined UNMC: July 2012
  • Hometown: Kenya

Research focus:

Antiretroviral therapy.

The goal of my research is: To create novel, long-acting, slow effective release antiretroviral therapy (LASER ART) formulations to facilitate prevention and treatment strategies against human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and hepatitis B virus (HBV) infections. A LASER ART regimen that can be administered once every six months or yearly will simplify dosing schedules.

My research will make a difference: For people living with - or at risk of acquiring - HIV and HBV infections who struggle with adherence to daily lifelong therapy.

The best advice I've been given is: To keep learning and always put God first.

Three things you may not know about me:

  • I grew up working on our family farm.
  • The decision to pursue a degree in science was influenced by my mother.
  • My wife and I are blessed with two amazing boys.

Ceremony March 3

A campus ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. March 3 in the Durham Research Center Auditorium to recognize the scientist laureate, research leadership awardee, distinguished scientists and new investigators. A reception will follow.

Honorees include:

Scientist Laureate

  • Susan Swindells, M.B.B.S., College of Medicine

Research Leadership

  • Amarnath Natarajan, Ph.D., Eppley Institute

Distinguished Scientists

  • Mark Carlson, M.D., College of Medicine
  • Rebecca Oberley Deegan, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Punita Dhawan, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Apar Ganti, M.D., College of Medicine
  • Amy Hoffman, Ph.D., College of Nursing
  • John Martin Lowe, Ph.D., College of Public Health
  • Aaron Mohs, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
  • Michel Ouellette, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Kimberly Scarsi, Pharm.D., College of Pharmacy
  • James Wahl, Ph.D., College of Dentistry

New Investigators

UNMC Wordmark